Wagga Wagga Integrated Transport Strategy 2040

The Wagga Wagga Integrated Transport Strategy and Implementation Plan 2040 establishes a strategic direction to cater for a growing economy and population in a climate where technology and the environment are changing at a rapid rate. Wagga Wagga is New South Wales’ largest inland city and the hub of the Riverina – Murray Region. In 2040 the population of Wagga Wagga will exceed 80,000 people, however we must plan for a city that could grow to beyond 100,000 people.
The Active Travel Plan forms part of the city’s Wagga Wagga’s Integrated Transport Strategy.
Different cycling users require different types of cycling facilities. Footpath and cycleway facilities connected to key destinations such as employment centres, universities, shopping centres, schools or parks are typically constructed for their specific purpose. Cycle facilities can be defined as three (3) distinct types: o Cycleway: off road cyclists only path o Shared user path: cycleway shared with pedestrians o Bike lanes: usually on-street lanes for cyclists only.
Connecting these facilities by joining up the missing links in the network significantly adds value to purpose specific route facilities, creating a network of cycle facilities and footpaths across Wagga Wagga. Way-finding signage or branding of key cycle corridors is also needed, as many facilities are shown only on maps with no associated street signage or pavement markings to denote them as key cycling routes.



Geographic Coverage

New South Wales


Wagga Wagga City Council: 2017